University of Colorado Denver Provost's Award for Excellence in Practices Related to Instructional, Research, and Clinical Faculty

Spring 2024

The University of Colorado Denver Provost's Award for Excellence in Practices Related to Instructional, Research, and Clinical Faculty (IRCF) is awarded to an **academic unit** for demonstrated excellence in practices regarding IRCF that **supports the mission** of the CU Denver Campus. This award is intended to recognize and support a specific area of best practice within a unit with regard to any level of IRCF, including overall, Clinical Teaching Track Faculty, Principal Instructors, Senior Instructors, Instructors, and/or Lecturers.

Eligibility, Criteria, and Procedures/Documentation

Eligibility

Candidates for the Provost's Award are academic units on the CU Denver Campus. The academic unit can be a school or college, library, department, area, program, or center. Academic units are not eligible to receive the award in consecutive years.¹ First-time applicants who do not receive an award will have their materials automatically held over for another year (unless they specify otherwise), and applicants may choose to update their materials before the next deadline.

Criteria

A. The extent to which the academic unit has engaged in a single best practice that supports the IRCF² to enable them to contribute to the mission of the unit.

B. The level of demonstrated impact or contribution the IRCF involvement has had on fulfilling the mission of the academic unit.

Evidence and Documentation

¹ Previous winners: Psychology Department (2010, 2017, 2021), Business School (2011, 2022), Auraria Library (2015), School of Education and Human Development Faculty Research Center (2019), School of Public Affairs (2020), and ThinqStudio (2023).

² See list of previous winners along with the Best Practices awarded on the UCDALI website: <u>https://www.ucdenver.edu/faculty-staff/faculty-assembly/UCDALI/provost's-award-for-excellence-in-practices-related-to-instructional-research-and-clinical-faculty</u>

- A. Required
 - Nominations must be submitted by the Dean, Director, Head, or any faculty member of the academic unit.

Application for Provost's Award.

The Provost's Award is presented to an academic unit for excellence in practice related to Instructional, Research, or Clinical Faculty (IRCF) in support of the mission of the CU Denver Campus.

Date of application:

Name of academic unit:

Name and title of person submitting the nomination (Dean, Director, Head or faculty member of the unit):

1. What is the best practice that is the basis of your proposal?

2. How many IRCF in your unit have been engaged in your best practice?

3. How has this practice engaged IRCF in the mission of the unit, school, or university?

4. How has this practice contributed to IRCF development?

5. How has this practice benefited the unit, school, or university?

6. Submit at least one letter of support from an IRCF member engaged in your best practice.

- B. Optional additional evidence relating to the award criteria:
 - Additional letters from individuals knowledgeable about the impact of the unit's activities (e.g., from a tenured or tenure-track faculty member engaged in practice with the IRCF; the Dean, Director, or Head of the unit; students; community members; professional organizations, etc.)
 - Articles in newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, etc., about the unit's contributions and impact
 - Examples of results linked to the activities of the academic unit
 - Timeline of development and implementation of practices
 - Other

Procedures

- A. By **Friday, February 23, 2024,** submit nomination to Betsy Metzger, faculty affairs senior coordinator, Office of the Provost.
 - Merge everything into a single PDF file and email the attached file to <u>Betsy.Metzger@ucdenver.edu</u> or share the dossier with her via OneDrive or Interfolio.
- B. Applications will be reviewed by a selection committee, with the winner reported to Faculty Affairs in the Provost's Office by **Monday, March 18, 2024**. Selection committee will consist of:
 - One representative from the UCDALI Executive Committee.
 - Four IRCF, each from a different school/college/library.
 - One tenured or tenure-track faculty representative. Appointed by the Faculty Assembly, the representative can rotate each year.

• IRCF members of the previously awarded unit will be invited to serve on the selection committee for the subsequent year.

Award

The Provost's Award will consist of recognition, a monetary reward of \$2,500, and a glass sculpture. The winning unit also will be recognized with a plaque added to the Faculty Awards Gallery in the North Classroom Building.

The monetary reward will be a grant to the academic unit's IRCF from the Provost and administered by the head of that unit expressly to support best practices that include promoting the advancement of IRCF teaching, enhancing IRCF professional development, or stimulating IRCF engagement with the university community and thereby contributing to the mission.

The award will be presented at the Celebration of Faculty Excellence event on April 29, 2024, 4:30-6 pm.